NAS, NAM Members Receive Prestigious Lasker Awards

The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation announced today that National Academy of Sciences members Michael Grunstein and C. David Allis share the 2018 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for discoveries into how gene expression is influenced by the chemical modification of histones — the proteins that package DNA within chromosomes. Joan Argetsinger Steitz, a member of both the NAS and the National Academy of Medicine, is the recipient of the 2018 Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science for four decades of leadership in biomedical science — exemplified by pioneering discoveries in RNA biology, generous mentorship of young scientists, and vigorous and passionate support of women in science.For more than 70 years, the Lasker Awards have recognized the contributions of leaders who made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevention of human disease. The prestigious awards each carry an honorarium of $250,000.

Leave Your Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: